Come Visit our Beautiful School!

The best way to learn about our wonderful laboratory school is to come and visit! Space is limited, so please register online for any of our 2020-21 admissions events below.

Elementary School Program

Group tours of our elementary school are held from November-January each year. Applications are due in January, assessment visits are offered in February, and enrollment decisions go out in mid-March.

K-5 Open Houses

Your whole family is invited to attend an open house! Mix and mingle with our elementary school teachers and families as you get a feel for our program and decide if you want to sign up for a weekday morning tour and submit an application for next year. We hope that you will! This is also a great opportunity for your child to spend some time in our classrooms before coming on a shadow visit in February. Open houses are held on Saturday mornings in from 11 am-12 noon and open to all ages.

  • Saturday, December 7, 2019
  • Saturday, January 11, 2020

Elementary School Tours

Come see our elementary school classrooms in action on one of our weekday morning tours, which run from 9-11 am on select Wednesdays and Fridays from November to mid-January. You can expect to visit classrooms in session,  participate in a Q&A with our staff, and learn about the curriculum, history, mission, and philosophy of our laboratory school. All tours are for adults only (babes in arms ok). 

  • Friday, November 8
  • Friday, November 15
  • Friday, November 22
  • Friday, December 6
  • Friday, December 13
  • Wednesday, December 18
  • Friday, January 10
  • Wednesday, January 15

 

After these dates, private tours may be available upon request. For application deadlines and decision dates, please consult our Elementary School Admissions page.

Early Childhood Program

Group tours of our infant/toddler, preschool, and transitional kindergarten programs run on select Wednesdays and Fridays from late January through February. Applications are due at the end of February and enrollment decisions go out in early April.

  • Wednesday, January 29
  • Friday, January 31
  • Wednesday, February 5
  • Friday, February 7
  • Wednesday, February 12
  • Wednesday, February 19
  • Friday, February 21
  • Wednesday, February 26

 

We carefully limit observations of our youngest students and are unable to conduct private tours of our early childhood program outside of our priority admissions season. However, we accept applications all year round, and for those who apply between March and August, we will contact you if we have an opening for your child. For application deadlines and decision dates, please consult our Early Childhood Admissions page.

Questions?

Contact our Admissions Director:
Whitney Walker
Mills College Children’s School
5000 MacArthur Boulevard
Oakland, CA 94613
510.430.2053 ph
510.430.3223 fax
wwalker@mills.edu